One month down – a healthy life to go.

Today marks my 1 month…. ermmm…. Surgiversary.

1month

YAYYYYYYY!!! WOOOHOOO… LOL

so far am right at 40 lbs down with plenty more to go!

As discussed in a previous post, I have also managed to shake both diabetes and high blood pressure.

 

Generally speaking this has been a very very positive experience so far for me.  Don’t get me wrong, i’m no masochist, and certainly didn’t enjoy the pain that came along with surgery & recovery….. but overall i have very little to complain about.

Our exercise plan has been working nicely, we walk 5+ days a week and then also have been working to get the garden back in order after 6 months of neglect.  Yesterday my wife commented that it “seems” like the walking is getting easier.  What left us completely winded even 2 weeks ago, has us barely breathing hard now!

I promised a friend in a previous post that in addition to posting progress pictures in my “about” area, I am also gonna do a update progress picture in an occasional thread…. So here you go.

288 1 month progress

DSCF0489

327

 

Reason’s 12-50:  My incredibly supportive friends!

reason’s 12 – 50 at least, i can’t even begin to name all of you… my friends and the awesome support they give!  Whether it just be internet friends throwing me a positive shoutout, or lifelong buddies checking in on me to see if all is well.  I can’t express how much it means to me that your interested in my little slice of the world.

Thanks so much!

2 thoughts on “One month down – a healthy life to go.

  1. Hey Prowler. Just found this one on the CDC off topic page. My sister had the lap band and went down about 100 pounds and leveled out. Looks great and feels MUCH better. My best friend had the same thing, but doesn’t exercise, still eats what he wants, etc…hasn’t lost much at all over a 4-5 year period. Seems you get out of it what you put into it, and my hat’s off to you for being one who is going the extra mile to get the most benefit you can from the procedure. I look at myself, and realize that I’m not in the best of shape, sitting behind a desk all day, not exercising, and knowing that I need to do better to help myself down the road, and so I’ll be around longer for my family. I’ll try to use your story as inspiration to get off my butt more. 🙂 Blessings to you on your mission sir!
    Scott, LouisianaFishNut

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Scott.

      With the way a gastric bypass works versus a lap band… it a pretty sure thing that i am going to lose a lot of weight… but i need to use that as a jumping board to switching to a healthier lifestyle than i have lived in the past. Thus i am starting to create an exercise mentality and trying to eat healthier as well as very small portions.

      Whether you choose lap band, bypass, or sleeve.. if you don’t want it you can “cheat” enough with all of them to retain your weight… but that’s always going to be a choice everyone makes.

      In any case.. thank you for the kind words and encouragement

      Like

Leave a comment