The Tools of the Trade!

Image

(click on picture to enlarge)

Hello Everyone, I wanted to use this weeks post to talk about some of the things that have worked for me / and or are must do based on doctor’s orders.

As i have stated before, weight loss surgery is intended to be a tool to help you get to a healthier you.  From many of the comments i see in weight loss forums, I think many people still see weight loss surgery as just being an “easy” button.  It’s true that at first you are going to lose weight whether or not you watch what you eat and exercise.   But long term, many have come to the realization that after 4-5 years the tool will no longer do it for you.  So to me it’s better to use this period to change my fitness habits.

Pictured above are my “Must” have items for changing my lifestyle for life.  I am going to run through them and give a heads up on why they are must’s.

1) Food Scale: A decent one runs less than 20$.  It’s amazing how important this is to help you understand what portion sizes you should be eating.  Make sure you have one that has a zero/tare function (so you can put a plate on there, zero it with the plate then build your meal on the plate) (For me this is helping me to re-train my mind on what a normal portion size is)

2) Peanut Butter: in this case it happens to be a powdered one, but any type will do, almond butter, peanut butter, you name it.  Outstanding source of protein and great mixer into so many of the foods you will be managing to just eat little bites (such as cottage cheese, shakes, etc)

3) Fiber supplement: You are going to want to add this to your shakes on a daily basis…. Trust me on this one.

4) Coconut Oil: Not a must have for everyone but i am in agreement with those that believe this is a healthy addition to a diet, moderation is of course the key, use 1 – 2 teaspoons on a daily basis to make your shakes creamy / fry your eggs / meats in etc

5) Whey Protein: This is the much maligned stuff that everyone seems to love to hate,  At this time i have been using the “Body Fortress” brand and have not found the vanilla flavor to be objectionable.  But i certainly love to doctor up my shakes with frozen fruits and other things.  I hope to do a personal taste testing of various brands of powder in the near future… stay tuned.. I will share results with all!

6) Magic Bullet Mixer: Incredibly convenient blender, comes with 6 or so cups that serve as the “blender” while you make your shake….. Thus you blend the shake right in the cup you are gonna drink it in.  Pulverizes ice quick!

7) Chewable Vitamins: Per my doctor the recommended brand is Centrum, Taken twice daily (midmorning & late afternoon)  Don’t skimp on this stuff, one of the re-occurring things you see from folks who are post surgery 8-10 years and did not take their supplements is lots of medical problems due to vitamin & calcium deficiency’s.

8) Beano: Just trust me on this one.  Lots of foods will now make you gassy, in particular the protein shakes…. and gas post weight loss surgery is the Stuff of Legend!  Use this product to minimize your aroma emission’s…..

protien fart

9) B12: Another recommended supplement, helps to make sure your energy levels stay up while you are loosing weight and exercising.

10) Glucosamine Chondroitin: This was not something required by my doctors office, but since i now am determined to exercise as much as possible…. My joints appreciate the help it offers.

11) Calcium Supplements: 2 chewable pills 3 times a day… A requirement post surgery… You really don’t want to become calcium deficient.

12) 7 day pill organizer: I like this one because it lets me put all my pills in it each day for both morning and night.   I keep the calcium pills outside of this because they are so big.  But this makes for a heck of a lot less bottle opening every day!

 

scars

So chick’s dig scar’s right?

I think that’s a saying that all of have heard at one time or another.  My wife certainly hasn’t offered any complaints of my scars post surgery so there is that!

In all seriousness, i have been surprised at how quickly the scars are fading away, in the attached picture i actually have 7 incision’s visible.  To me only 2 of them really stand out any more.  So if your worried about how bad your scars will look post surgery…. Don’t stress…. Unless you were hoping to look like you had a fistfight with a grizzly… and the grizzly lost.

 

bear

Reason #52

Little League Baseball with my little boy and girl.

 

Progress Pictures

DSCF0489

Start

pose

5/9

Leave a comment